The Las Vegas hotel deposit you meet at the front desk is an incidental hold: the hotel authorizes your card for a set amount per day, night or stay, on top of anything you haven’t prepaid, and releases it after checkout. Here are the deposit policies of 56 hotels as of October 2026, who takes debit or cash, and how long the money takes to come back.
Quick answer
Most Las Vegas resorts hold $50 to $150 a day or night for incidentals (as of October 2026), on top of unpaid room, tax and resort fee. Luxor, Excalibur and Horseshoe hold $50 a day, MGM Grand and Caesars Palace $100, Bellagio and Wynn $150. Holds are released at checkout; banks can take up to 10 business days, sometimes longer.
Las Vegas hotel deposits at a glance
Standard-room incidental holds at the most-booked resorts, checked October 2026 on each hotel’s own terms, FAQ or caesars.com data; how we check facts explains the method.
| Hotel | Incidental hold (as of October 2026) | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Luxor, Excalibur | $50 | Per day |
| Horseshoe, Paris, Flamingo | $50 | Per day |
| New York-New York | $75 (FAQ cap $300) | Per day |
| MGM Grand, Park MGM | $100 (FAQ cap $400) | Per day |
| Caesars Palace | $100 | Per day |
| Mandalay Bay | $100 | Per day |
| Bellagio, ARIA, The Cosmopolitan | $150 | Per day |
| The Venetian, The Palazzo | $150 | Per night |
| Wynn, Encore, Fontainebleau | $150 | Per night |
| Golden Nugget | $50 | Per stay |
Suites usually carry bigger holds, and the full 56-hotel tables below add debit and cash rules.
What changed in 2026
- May 22, 2026: The Cromwell reopened as The Vanderpump Hotel, with a $100-a-day hold.
- Aug. 26, 2026: MGM updated its reservation terms; the hold still comes on top of room, tax and resort fee, and you need the card you booked with at registration.
- October 2026: Harrah’s FAQ now says it doesn’t take cash and releases held funds within 3 to 7 business days after checkout.

Las Vegas hotel deposits by hotel (as of October 2026)
Amounts are for a standard room unless noted, from each hotel’s own terms, FAQ or caesars.com data (October 2026). Where a hotel publishes no amount, its Booking.com or Hotels.com house-rules figure is shown and labeled. Suites often carry bigger holds.
MGM Resorts
| Hotel | Incidental hold | Basis | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bellagio | $150 | Per day | Plus room, tax and resort fee |
| ARIA | $150 Deluxe Rooms; $250 Tower Suites; $350 Sky Suites; $500 Villas | Per day | No cash at check-in; U.S. cash accepted at checkout |
| Vdara | $100 Studios; $250 Suites; $350 Luxury Suites | Per day | Cash not accepted |
| The Cosmopolitan | $150; $1,000 for a Bungalow or Chelsea Penthouse | Per day; per night for those suites | Bungalow and penthouse holds must go on a credit card |
| MGM Grand, Park MGM, The Reserve | $100; FAQs cap it at $400 | Per day | Terms give no cap; FAQs apply the cap to credit and debit cards |
| The Signature at MGM Grand | $100, up to 3 days ($300 maximum) | Per day | Terms and FAQ agree |
| New York-New York | $75; FAQ caps it at $300 | Per day | Terms give no cap |
| Mandalay Bay, W Las Vegas | $100 | Per day | Suite FAQs: cash or debit accepted if a credit card stays on file |
| Luxor, Excalibur | $50 | Per day | Lowest MGM hold |
MGM’s reservation terms, updated Aug. 26, 2026, put the hold on top of room, tax and resort fee and require the credit or debit card used to book at registration.
Caesars Entertainment
| Hotel | Incidental hold | Basis | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Caesars Palace, Nobu Hotel | $100 | Per day | No cash; credit card required for incidentals |
| The Vanderpump Hotel | $100 | Per day | FAQ: credit or debit; Caesars’ data: credit card |
| Horseshoe | $50 | Per day | Credit or debit card; no cash, Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay |
| Paris, Flamingo | $50 | Per day | Credit card required for incidentals |
| Harrah’s | Not published (per Booking.com: $100 a day, though the listing also shows $150) | Per day | FAQ: credit or debit, no cash; released within 3 to 7 business days after checkout. Caesars’ data: credit card |
| The LINQ | Not published (per Booking.com: $50 a night, though the listing also shows $150) | Not stated | FAQ: credit or debit (debit releases slower); Caesars’ data: credit card |
| Planet Hollywood | Not published (per Booking.com: $300) | Per day, per the FAQ | FAQ: credit or debit card |
Caesars’ data still carries an older fee list showing $100 at Paris, Flamingo and Horseshoe; the current policy sections say $50 a day, and Horseshoe’s FAQ agrees.
Other Strip resorts
| Hotel | Incidental hold | Basis | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Venetian, The Palazzo | $150; Signature Suites $500 or $2,500 | Per night in the terms, “per reservation” in the Suites FAQ; Signature Suites per stay | Credit card deposit |
| Wynn, Encore | $150 rooms and Tower Suites; $500 villas, apartments and duplexes | Per night | Valid credit card required |
| Fontainebleau | $150 standard rooms and most suites; $500 Grand Panorama Suite and Fleur de Lis | Per night | No cash; credit card required at check-in |
| Resorts World (Las Vegas Hilton, Conrad, Crockfords) | Not published (per Booking.com: $150 for standard rooms) | Nightly, per the FAQ | Credit or debit card |
| SAHARA | $50; up to $100 on promotional rates | Per day | Major credit card required |
| The STRAT | $75, maximum $300 | Per day | Credit or debit card matching your ID |
| Treasure Island | Not published (per Hotels.com: $100 a night; per Booking.com: $100 on arrival) | Varies by listing | No cash (Hotels.com) |
| Circus Circus | Not published (per Booking.com: $50 a day, up to $200) | Per day | No cash deposits (Booking.com) |
| Best Western Plus Casino Royale | $25 (per Booking.com) | Per night | No cash (Booking.com) |
Downtown
| Hotel | Incidental hold | Basis | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Golden Nugget | $50 | Per stay | Standard rooms |
| El Cortez | Pavilion and Cabana Rooms $50 a night (maximum $150); Original 47 and Tower rooms $150; suites $250 | Per night, capped; others per stay | No cash; credit or debit, but credit for Premium Suites |
| Plaza | $100 | Per reservation | Cash accepted for everything except the deposit; no prepaid, gift or virtual cards |
| Four Queens, Hotel Apache at Binion’s | $100 | Per stay | No cash, gift or prepaid cards |
| Fremont, California, Main Street Station | $100 | At check-in | Credit card, per current offer terms |
| Circa | $100 (per Booking.com) | Per stay | No cash (Booking.com) |
| The D, Golden Gate | $50 (per Booking.com) | Per stay | No cash (Booking.com) |
| Downtown Grand | $50 (per Booking.com) | Per night | No cash (Booking.com) |
Off the Strip
| Hotel | Incidental hold | Basis | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Westgate | $50 | Per day | Listed as a credit card charge |
| Palms | $100 per room; suites may be higher | Per night | Debit or credit; no cash, gift or prepaid cards |
| Rio | $100 | Per day | FAQ mostly requires a credit card; no cash or prepaid cards |
| Trump International | $100 studios and suites; $500 penthouses | Per night | Credit or debit card |
| M Resort | $150, plus a hold for the full expected balance | Per stay | No personal checks or prepaid cards |
| Ahern Hotel | $100 | Per night | Debit or credit card |
| Virgin Hotels | $100 (per Booking.com) | Per day | Credit card (Booking.com) |
| Red Rock, Green Valley Ranch | $100 (per Booking.com) | Per stay | No cash (Booking.com) |
We couldn’t find a deposit policy for Four Seasons, Waldorf Astoria or The Carriage House.
The three Las Vegas hotel “deposits”
Three different charges get called a deposit, and only one of them is the hold at check-in:
| Reservation deposit | Incidental hold | Resort fee | |
|---|---|---|---|
| When it hits your card | At booking | At check-in | Per night, prepaid or billed at the hotel |
| What it is | Usually the first night’s room and tax on direct bookings | An authorization for room charges and damages | A mandatory nightly fee |
| Do you get it back? | Yes, if you cancel in time | Yes, minus anything you charge | No |
Reservation deposit. Book direct and most resorts take one night up front. MGM refunds the first night’s deposit if you cancel at least 72 hours before arrival, unless your offer says otherwise, and Fontainebleau uses the same 72-hour line. Caesars bills one night on room-only bookings, and most of its hotel FAQs allow free cancellation up to 48 hours out, though Flamingo’s says 72, so check your rate. The Venetian bills the first night or the whole stay, depending on the offer.
Incidental hold. This is what the tables above cover: money held so you can charge things to your room. Bellagio’s terms tie it to “room charging privileges.” It’s released after checkout if you haven’t run up charges or damaged the room; El Cortez, for example, releases its deposit “pending a room inspection.”
Resort fee. A mandatory nightly charge, not a deposit, so it doesn’t come back. MGM’s terms apply it to all reservations, and The Venetian’s is payable at check-in. Our resort fees guide lists every hotel’s fee, and a few hotels skip it entirely; see Las Vegas hotels without resort fees.
Prepaid on Booking.com? You still get a hold
Booking.com is an intermediary: your booking contract is with the hotel. It lists three ways a stay can be paid: the hotel charges you at the property, the hotel charges you in advance, or Booking.com organizes the payment in advance. Any upfront payment “may be taken or pre-authorized when you make your booking, and it may be non-refundable,” so read the rate’s terms. Caesars says third-party bookings follow the booking site’s cancellation policy, not its own.
None of that replaces the check-in hold. Prepaying covers the room, but hotels still take an incidental hold at check-in under their own policy. Bellagio’s own fine print on Booking.com lists a $150 incidental deposit per night, per room, taken at check-in, and many listings note a damage deposit “required on arrival.”
What a pay-at-the-hotel rate adds is the rest of the bill. Plaza authorizes “the remaining balance for room, tax & nightly $39 (plus tax) resort fee, plus a $100 deposit,” and Four Queens authorizes “the full amount due plus a $100 security deposit.” Booking.com also warns that some fees inside the total it shows are collected by the hotel directly. Our guide to the best way to book Las Vegas hotels compares Booking.com with booking direct.
Do Las Vegas hotels accept debit cards and cash?
Debit: often, but the money leaves your account. MGM’s hotels, Resorts World, The STRAT, Palms, Plaza, El Cortez, Trump International and Ahern Hotel accept debit for the deposit, and so do Horseshoe, Harrah’s, Planet Hollywood, The LINQ and The Vanderpump Hotel according to their FAQs (Caesars’ property data for Harrah’s, The LINQ and Vanderpump asks for a credit card, so confirm). The catch shows up in the fine print:
- The Cosmopolitan: “If a debit card is used, an authorization will appear as an actual charge and the remaining funds will be refunded at checkout.”
- Four Queens and Binion’s: debit authorizations show up as an actual charge, and the funds are frozen until checkout.
- **The STRAT:** debit funds are charged in advance, and the refund takes an estimated 10 to 20 business days, depending on your bank.
- The LINQ: “Holds on debit cards may take longer to release than credit cards.”
- MGM: with a debit card, “unused funds may be withheld by your card issuer.”
Some hotels want a credit card: Caesars’ data says so for Caesars Palace, Nobu, Paris and Flamingo, and Wynn, Fontainebleau, SAHARA, The Venetian and Westgate name a credit card in their terms. Prepaid and app-based cards are widely refused; Plaza and Palms both name Cash App and Venmo.
Cash: rarely. Caesars Palace and Nobu (“Cash is not accepted for deposits or room charges”), Harrah’s, Horseshoe, Vdara, Fontainebleau, Palms, Rio, El Cortez, Four Queens and Binion’s refuse cash for the deposit, and Plaza takes cash for everything except its $100 deposit. ARIA won’t take cash at check-in but accepts U.S. cash at checkout, and the Mandalay Bay and W suite FAQs allow cash or debit as long as a credit card stays on file.
How long does the hold take to come back?
| Hotel | When it’s released | How long it can take |
|---|---|---|
| MGM Resorts hotels | At checkout | Up to 10 business days to post; international banks may take longer |
| New York-New York | At checkout, if you charged nothing | 7 to 10 business days; up to 30 for international banks |
| The Cosmopolitan | At checkout | 7 to 10 business days domestic; 7 to 30 international |
| The STRAT | Within 24 hours after checkout | Depends on your bank; debit an estimated 10 to 20 business days |
| Harrah’s | After checkout | Within 3 to 7 business days |
| SAHARA | Not stated | Up to 5 business days for unused funds |
| Rio | At checkout | Typically 3 to 7 business days; international cards up to 30 days |
| Trump International | Day of departure, if there are no charges | Up to 7 business days domestic; 20 international |
| El Cortez | At checkout, pending a room inspection | 3 to 10 business days |
| Four Queens, Binion’s | At checkout | Your bank may hold the funds longer |
Among the other Caesars hotels, only The LINQ says anything (“released after checkout”), and M Resort warns its hold may last until after checkout “or longer at the discretion of your card issuer.”
What can eat into the hold
The hold secures whatever you charge to the room, so a few in-room extras can turn into real charges at checkout:
- Sensor minibars. ARIA’s FAQ says its minibars are sensor-based and not set to a food-safe temperature; ask the front desk for a personal fridge instead (fees may apply).
- Fridge rentals. MGM Grand charges $35 a night for a fridge when one is available, Excalibur $25 and The Venetian and The Palazzo $50 a day for a personal fridge (as of October 2026). Vdara includes a fridge for personal items in every suite.
- Room charges. Restaurant, bar and spa bills signed to the room come off the same authorization before the rest is released.
Our guide to Las Vegas hotel rooms with a fridge, microwave or coffee maker lists which hotels charge for what.

How to keep the hold small
- Pick a capped or flat hold for longer stays. MGM Grand’s $100 a day stops at $400, or four days’ worth, and The STRAT’s $75 a day stops at $300. Golden Nugget holds $50 per stay and Plaza $100 per reservation; our guide to downtown Las Vegas hotels covers both.
- Book a standard room. ARIA’s Sky Suites hold $350 a day against $150 for a Deluxe Room, and a Cosmopolitan Bungalow $1,000 a night.
- Use a credit card if you can. Debit holds can come out as actual charges and take longer to release.
- Prepay the room. Where the check-in authorization covers your unpaid balance, as at Plaza, Four Queens and M Resort, prepaying leaves mostly the incidental hold.
- Read promotion terms. SAHARA’s promotional rates, such as its no-resort-fee All-In rate, set the hold at up to $100 a day, double the standard $50.
- Budget for it. Count the hold as money you can’t spend until it’s released; our Las Vegas trip cost guide and list of cheap hotels in Las Vegas help you plan around it.
- Paying for early check-in or late checkout? Budget those fees as well; see our guide to Las Vegas early check-in and late checkout.

Golden Nugget Las Vegas
- On Fremont Street
- Free guest self-parking
- The Tank pool
Downtown's polished full-service classic on Fremont Street, with free self-parking for hotel guests and strong steak and seafood restaurants.

Plaza Hotel & Casino
- Rooftop pool & pickleball
- Free guest self-parking
- Fremont Street views
Value hotel at the west end of Fremont Street with a rooftop pool and pickleball courts above the canopy and free self-parking for guests.

Four Queens Hotel & Casino
- No resort fee
- On Fremont Street
- Hugo's Cellar
Old-school Fremont Street hotel that charges no resort fee, with classic shows and Hugo's Cellar for an old-Vegas dinner.

The STRAT Hotel, Casino & Tower
- STRAT Tower & SkyPod
- Thrill rides & SkyJump
- Top of the World
Budget-friendly hotel at the north end of the Strip beneath the STRAT Tower, with observation decks, thrill rides and the revolving Top of the World restaurant.
FAQ
How much is the deposit at Bellagio?
$150 a day, on top of room, tax and the resort fee, per Bellagio’s reservation terms (as of October 2026). It covers room-charging privileges and is released at checkout, though the refund can take up to 10 business days to post. Our Bellagio review has the rest of the fine print.
How much is the deposit at Caesars Palace?
$100 a day, according to Caesars’ property data, and cash isn’t accepted for deposits or room charges. A credit card is required for incidentals; the FAQ lists debit cards among payment methods around the resort but doesn’t say one can secure the deposit. Nobu Hotel holds the same $100. See our Caesars Palace review.
How much is the deposit at The Cosmopolitan?
$150 a day, or $1,000 a night for a Bungalow or Chelsea Penthouse, which must go on a credit card. On a debit card, the authorization shows up as an actual charge, and refunds take 7 to 10 business days for domestic travelers. More in our Cosmopolitan review.
How much is the deposit at Luxor?
$50 a day, on top of room, tax and resort fee, the lowest daily hold at any MGM Resorts hotel; Excalibur holds the same. Like other MGM hotels, Luxor requires the card you booked with at registration and releases the hold at checkout.
When is the MGM Grand deposit refunded?
At checkout. MGM releases the hold when you check out and sends it to your bank, and a refund shown on your receipt can take up to 10 business days to post, longer with international banks. MGM Grand holds $100 a day, capped at $400 in its FAQ. Our MGM Grand review has more.
Are there any Strip hotels that don’t charge a deposit?
Not that we found. Every Strip hotel with a published policy takes an incidental hold at check-in, and the lowest official daily amount is $50, at Luxor, Excalibur, Horseshoe, Paris, Flamingo and SAHARA (standard rates). We couldn’t find a policy for Four Seasons or Waldorf Astoria. Downtown, Golden Nugget holds just $50 per stay.
Check the deposit line in your confirmation and leave room on your card for the whole stay. If someone in your group is under 21, read our guide to the Las Vegas hotel check-in age, and for the rest of the planning, start with our first time in Las Vegas tips.
Prices vary according to travel dates and availability.
Detailed room, location and booking guides
More hotel reviews and trip-planning details
Photo credits
- Photo: Missvain, CC BY 4.0 via Wikimedia Commons
- Photo: Ken Lund, CC BY-SA 2.0 via Wikimedia Commons
- Photo: Missvain, CC BY 4.0 via Wikimedia Commons
- Photo: Property gallery on Booking.com.
- Photo: Property gallery on Booking.com.
- Photo: Property gallery on Booking.com.
- Photo: Property gallery on Booking.com.



