If you’re driving to Las Vegas, heading to the Convention Center or want a modern room without center-Strip prices, SAHARA Las Vegas deserves a look: parking is free, the Monorail starts inside the resort and a Vegas Loop station opened in August 2026. The short answer from this SAHARA Las Vegas review: it’s a solid value at the north end of the Strip, as long as you accept rides to the center, a $54.95 nightly resort fee plus tax (as of October 2026) and a spa and main gym closed for renovation.
Quick Verdict
Book SAHARA for free self-parking and valet, the Monorail and Loop at the door, Magic Mike Live and a pool that’s free for hotel guests of all ages. Pick Marra for the roomiest standard room, Blanca for the newest redesign and Alexandria for the shortest walk to the Monorail. Skip it if you want to walk to the Bellagio Fountains, need a spa or a poker room during your trip, or want an in-room coffee maker.
Location
SAHARA sits at 2535 Las Vegas Boulevard South, on the east side of the Strip just south of Sahara Avenue, at what SAHARA calls “the north end of the Strip.” By Clark County’s strict definition, as reported by Las Vegas Advisor, the Strip “extends from Sahara Avenue south,” so SAHARA is its northern bookend; Visit Las Vegas lists it in its Strip region.
Street numbers show the neighbors: Fontainebleau (2777), Resorts World (3000) and Wynn (3131) to the south, with Westgate (3000 Paradise Road) and the Las Vegas Convention Center to the east. SAHARA publishes no walking distances; plan on riding to the center Strip. Our where to stay in Las Vegas guide compares the North Strip with the other areas.
Is it new? Partly. The resort opened on Oct. 7, 1952, operated as SLS Las Vegas from 2014 to 2019 and was “re-imagined and renamed SAHARA Las Vegas” on Aug. 29, 2019. Some booking sites still use “sls-las-vegas” URLs, and older SLS-era reviews describe a different hotel. Wikipedia names the Meruelo Group as owner; SAHARA’s own site calls it “a certified minority-owned company.” It’s open, and searches on Oct. 9, 2026, turned up no report of a sale or closure.
Rooms
SAHARA has 1,613 rooms in three towers. Marra is by far the largest (1,131 rooms) and Blanca the smallest (196). SAHARA doesn’t state Alexandria’s count, but the arithmetic leaves about 286 (1,613 − 1,131 − 196). Every room has a mini-fridge; no coffee maker is mentioned, and only one Marra suite lists a Nespresso machine.
| Room type | Size | Beds | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Blanca King / Blanca Double | 325 sq ft | 1 king, or Double setup | “Newly redesigned”; pop-art bathroom |
| Marra Style Queen | 360 sq ft | 2 queens | “Luxury shower,” workstation, seating |
| Marra Style King | Not stated | 1 king | Workstation; City Views versions on higher floors |
| Alexandria King | 322 sq ft | 1 king | Seating area, walk-in shower |
| Alexandria Deluxe King | Not stated | 1 king | “Peek-a-boo shower/large bath” |
| Alexandria Iconic King / Double | Not stated | 1 king, or Double setup | “Oversized bathroom” |
| Blanca Junior Suite | 440 sq ft | Not stated | “Newly redesigned” |
| Marra Signature Junior Suite | 540 sq ft | Not stated | Mountain or South-Strip views, high ceilings |
| Blanca One Bedroom Suite | 675 sq ft | Not stated | “Newly redesigned” |
| Marra Signature One Bedroom King Suite | 730 sq ft | 1 king | Nespresso, VIP check-in |
| The Legendary Suite (Marra) | 1,075 sq ft | Not stated | Call to book |
| Blanca Penthouse | 3,300 sq ft | Not stated | Kravitz Design, two rooftop patios with fireplace; call to book |
Which tower to book.
- Marra if you want space: the Marra Style Queen is the largest standard room SAHARA sizes, at 360 square feet, and the Marra suites were remodeled in 2023 as part of what trade press reported as a $200 million renovation.
- Blanca for the newest look: SAHARA calls its rooms and suites “newly redesigned,” and it’s the smallest tower, home to the 24/7 fitness studio.
- Alexandria for transit and tubs: the Monorail station is reached by a walkway near the Alexandria Tower, and the Deluxe King is the standard room that mentions a large bath. The tower also sits next to the spa and main gym, which are closed for now.
Whichever you choose, confirm the tower name on your reservation.
Prices vary according to travel dates and availability.
Beds
Most categories SAHARA names are kings; the Marra Style Queen has two queens. SAHARA doesn’t spell out bed sizes for the Blanca Double or Alexandria Iconic Double, or for most suites, so check the listing if you need two beds.
Extra guests: children 17 and under stay free in existing bedding, a third or fourth adult costs $15 per person per night, a rollaway is $30 a night and a crib is free (as of October 2026).
Bathrooms
- Blanca: pop-art bathrooms.
- Marra Style Queen: a “luxury shower.”
- Alexandria King: an “ample walk-in shower.”
- Alexandria Deluxe King: a “peek-a-boo shower/large bath.”
- Alexandria Iconic rooms: an “oversized bathroom”; Alexandria suites list a “large bath.”
One recurring complaint in guest reviews: some rooms have the sink outside the bathroom and sliding doors, which matters if you’re sharing with friends rather than a partner.
Pool
The Pool at SAHARA is free for hotel guests of all ages. Non-guests must be 21 or older with ID (Nevada locals 21+ get in free), and the private cabanas are 21+. Expect bungalows, daybeds, lily pads and a 240-foot LED screen for sports; outside food and drink aren’t allowed.
Hours change with the season. The pool page shows 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily, while SAHARA’s FAQ lists 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. in March and April and 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. from May through September; October hours and the season’s end date aren’t published. October events are still listed, including football viewing and a Spin Doctors concert on Oct. 10, 2026, so check the pool page before you go.
Restaurants and bars
- Maroon by Kwame Onwuachi: a Caribbean steakhouse, billed as “now open.”
- Balla Italian Soul: coastal Italian from chef Shawn McClain, with a Saturday “Ciao Bella” endless brunch ($55, 10:30 a.m. to 2 p.m., as of October 2026).
- Chickie’s & Pete’s: sports bar and restaurant.
- The Noodle Den: hand-pulled noodles and dumplings.
- Zeffer’s Cafe: casual breakfast and brunch.
- Prendi and Starbucks: grab-and-go focaccia, sandwiches, gelato and coffee.
- Bars: The Tangier lobby lounge (200-plus brown spirits, 3 p.m. to 2 a.m. daily), CASBAR Lounge and AZILO Ultra Lounge for events.
If you’re reading older reviews, Bazaar Meat by José Andrés is gone: it closed here on July 31, 2025, and moved to The Venetian.
Casino
SAHARA’s casino covers nearly 60,000 square feet, with more than 600 slots, more than 50 table games, The Infinity Room for high limits and the Infinity Rewards loyalty program. The sportsbook is William Hill, open from 9 a.m. on weekdays and 7 a.m. on weekends.
There’s no poker room: the seven-table room closed on Nov. 16, 2024, and was replaced by slots, according to the Review-Journal. SAHARA doesn’t state its casino-floor smoking policy. All guest rooms are non-smoking, and SAHARA is a cannabis-free property, with fines of $250 to $700 for violations.
Entertainment and nightlife
Magic Mike Live is the headliner: a 90-minute show created and directed by Channing Tatum, 18+ with photo ID. SAHARA offers 20% off for military, students and Nevada residents through the box office, plus a $39 VIP Meet & Greet (as of October 2026).
- Dueling Pianos.
- Mala Vida Latin Nights: Fridays from 10 p.m. at AZILO Ultra Lounge, 21+.
- “What You Wanna Hear”: an R&B night at The Tangier, Thursdays at 7:30 p.m., free with RSVP.
- The Pool: concerts and football viewing on the big screen.
Amenities
- Spa and main gym (closed): Amina Spa and the Alexandria Fitness Center “will temporarily close for renovations, with June 7, 2026 marking the final day reservations will be accepted,” and SAHARA’s page gives no reopening date. Online travel agency alerts list the closure through Dec. 31, 2026, but that’s not SAHARA’s word. Ignore the gym hours still printed in SAHARA’s FAQ.
- Fitness Studio (open): in Blanca Tower, 24/7, room key required, 18+, Technogym equipment.
- Check-in: 4 p.m., later than most of its neighbors; check-out 11 a.m., with late checkout based on availability. Text FAREWELL to 702.930.2701 for express checkout.
- Check-in age: SAHARA’s rules conflict. The FAQ requires you to be 21, with ID and a major credit card, while the hotel terms say guests under 21 “must be accompanied by a parent or official guardian to check in.” Get written confirmation; our Las Vegas hotel check-in age guide has the details.
- Deposit: the first night is charged at booking, and check-in adds a $50-a-day incidental hold.
- Pets: not permitted, except service dogs.
- Other: a notary for registered guests and an Enterprise desk outside the lobby.
Parking
Parking is the headline perk. SAHARA’s guest-services page says “Parking is always free at SAHARA Las Vegas for hotel and property guests,” with free valet at each entrance, and its resort-fee terms say “all resort guests enjoy FREE valet and self-parking.”
- Two garages for vehicles under 6 feet 8 inches: the West Garage off Las Vegas Boulevard and the East Garage off Paradise Road.
- EV charging: 16 Tesla Level 2 connectors (up to 10 kW) on level 7 of the West garage, usable by any EV through the Tesla app.
- No overnight oversized vehicles, including buses, RVs, U-Hauls and trailers.
Resorts World, to the south, charges $21 a day to self-park (as of October 2026). Our Las Vegas parking fees guide lists every free-parking hotel.
Getting around: transportation
- Monorail: SAHARA is the northern terminus. Trains come every 4 to 8 minutes and run to six other stations, including the Convention Center and MGM Grand; the full line takes about 15 minutes. A ride costs $5.75 online or $6.25 at the station (as of October 2026). Our Las Vegas Monorail guide has hours and passes.
- Vegas Loop: SAHARA’s station is “Now Open” at the Paradise Road entrance beside the digital marquee, a surface-street station running 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. daily plus convention hours. Rides go to the Convention Center campus, Strip resort stations and, in a limited beta, the airport. SAHARA’s Loop page says only “rides between stations on the LVCC campus are complimentary”; The Boring Company sets fares. See our Vegas Loop guide.
- Airport: a taxi to this zone is a flat $30.25, plus $3 by card and a 3% excise tax (as of October 2026); taxis wait 24/7 at the main entrance. SAHARA’s partner LAS Xpress runs paid transfers from $18 per person one way. Uber and Lyft use the ground floor of the parking structure near the main casino entrance.
- Downtown: the Monorail doesn’t go there. Take the 24-hour Deuce or the free Downtown Loop shuttle, which stops at The STRAT.
Resort fee
SAHARA’s resort fee is $54.95 per night plus 13.38% Clark County tax (as of October 2026), about $62.30 a night once taxed. It covers in-room Wi-Fi, fitness center and in-season pool access, two bottles of water, local and toll-free calls, boarding-pass printing, notary service and a digital savings pass, plus free valet and self-parking. Note that the main gym in that list is currently closed.
Two things help. SAHARA says rates quoted on its website, in its booking engine and by its agents “already include the resort fee,” with taxes added at check-out. And there’s a genuine no-fee option: the “All-In” rate (April 8, 2026, through July 31, 2027) drops the resort fee and adds breakfast for two at Zeffer’s, noon late checkout and free parking. It’s 21+, must be booked a day ahead, excludes groups and has blackout dates, and the incidental hold rises to up to $100 a day. See our guides to Las Vegas resort fees and hotels without resort fees.
Nearby attractions
- Las Vegas Convention Center: to the east, two Monorail stops away or by Loop; our hotels near the Las Vegas Convention Center guide compares SAHARA with the closest options.
- The STRAT: just across Sahara Avenue, home of the tower and a stop on the free Downtown Loop shuttle.
- Fontainebleau and Resorts World: the newest big resorts, to the south; see our Fontainebleau Las Vegas review.
- T-Mobile Arena: about 26 minutes by Monorail plus walking, according to an archived version of the arena’s transportation page.
Who should stay here
- Drivers, since self-parking and valet are free.
- Convention-goers, with the Monorail and the Loop on site.
- Value seekers who want a modernized room and will ride to the center Strip.
- Families on a budget: kids 17 and under stay free in existing bedding, cribs are free and the pool is open to all ages for hotel guests.
- Magic Mike Live audiences.
Who should avoid it
- Walkers who want the center Strip on foot: SAHARA is at the far north end.
- Spa-goers, until Amina Spa reopens.
- Poker players: no poker room since November 2024.
- Nightclub fans: SAHARA has lounges, not a club.
- Pet owners: only service dogs are allowed.
- Anyone under 21 checking in without written confirmation of the policy.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Free self-parking and valet for all resort guests
- Monorail terminus and Vegas Loop station on site
- Pool free for hotel guests of all ages
- Rates on SAHARA’s own site include the resort fee, and an All-In no-fee rate runs through July 31, 2027
- Kids 17 and under free in existing bedding; free cribs
Cons
- Far north end of the Strip; the center is a ride away
- Resort fee of $54.95 plus tax per night (as of October 2026)
- Amina Spa and the main gym are closed for renovation with no published reopening date
- No poker room and no in-room coffee maker
- Conflicting minimum check-in age rules
Alternatives nearby
If you’re torn between SAHARA and Fontainebleau, pick Fontainebleau for luxury, seven pools including LIV Beach and a Loop station of its own, and SAHARA if you want the Monorail and free parking at a lower price level. Resorts World suits Hilton Honors members, with a 5.5-acre pool complex and a Loop station, but its $55 resort fee and $21 daily self-parking (as of October 2026) make it the pricier choice for drivers; our Resorts World Las Vegas review explains its three hotels. The STRAT, across Sahara Avenue, is the budget pick with thrill rides, but it charges for parking unless you have a Nevada ID.

Fontainebleau Las Vegas
- Opened December 2023
- Seven pools incl. LIV Beach
- LIV Nightclub
The north Strip's newest major luxury resort (opened December 2023), with a six-acre pool complex, LIV nightlife and a Vegas Loop station.

Las Vegas Hilton at Resorts World
- 5.5-acre pool complex
- Hilton Honors
- Vegas Loop station
One of three Hilton-brand hotels on the Resorts World campus, sharing a 5.5-acre pool complex, big-name dining and a Vegas Loop station.

The STRAT Hotel, Casino & Tower
- STRAT Tower & SkyPod
- Thrill rides & SkyJump
- Top of the World
Budget-friendly hotel at the north end of the Strip beneath the STRAT Tower, with observation decks, thrill rides and the revolving Top of the World restaurant.
Westgate or SAHARA?
Westgate, at 3000 Paradise Road, is off the Strip next to the Convention Center, which it lists as a 7-minute walk. Like SAHARA, it has both a Monorail station and a Loop station on site.
- Choose Westgate if the convention halls are your only destination, if you want the Westgate SuperBook, or if someone in your group is 18 to 20: Westgate’s official policy sets check-in at 18. Its resort fee is slightly lower, at $49.99 plus tax (as of October 2026).
- Choose SAHARA if you’re driving (Westgate charges for self-parking, at a rate it doesn’t publish), want a Strip address with a pool open to guests of all ages, or plan to see Magic Mike Live.
Is it worth staying here?
Yes, if you’re driving, attending a trade show at the Convention Center or simply want a modern room with transit at the door. Free parking and a fee that’s built into SAHARA’s own rates take the sting out of the $54.95 charge, and the All-In rate removes it entirely if you qualify. If you came to walk the center Strip, stay closer to it. Prices vary according to travel dates and availability; compare SAHARA with our best hotels in Las Vegas.
Prices vary according to travel dates and availability.
FAQ
Is SAHARA Las Vegas on the Strip?
Yes. SAHARA is at 2535 Las Vegas Boulevard South, on the east side just south of Sahara Avenue, and Visit Las Vegas lists it in its Strip region. Under Clark County’s strict definition, the Strip starts at Sahara Avenue, so SAHARA marks its northern end.
Is parking free at SAHARA Las Vegas?
Yes. SAHARA says parking “is always free” for hotel and property guests, and its terms say all resort guests get free valet and self-parking. There are two garages, off Las Vegas Boulevard and Paradise Road, plus Tesla Level 2 chargers that work for any EV. That makes SAHARA one of the few Strip resorts where a car adds nothing to the bill beyond the resort fee.
Does SAHARA Las Vegas have resort fees?
Yes: $54.95 per night plus tax (as of October 2026), covering parking, Wi-Fi, pool access and more. Rates on SAHARA’s own site already include it. The exception is the All-In rate, offered through July 31, 2027, which has no resort fee and adds breakfast for two; it’s 21+, must be booked a day ahead and excludes groups.
Is SAHARA Las Vegas kid friendly?
Reasonably. Children 17 and under stay free in existing bedding, cribs are free, and the pool is open to hotel guests of all ages. But the casino is 21+, Magic Mike Live is 18+, no arcade is listed, and the adult checking in should be 21.
Is the Sahara still open in Las Vegas?
Yes. SAHARA Las Vegas is open, with a new Vegas Loop station since August 2026 and Maroon by Kwame Onwuachi among its newer restaurants. We found no 2026 report of a sale or closure. It ran as SLS Las Vegas from 2014 to 2019 before taking back the SAHARA name.
Is SAHARA Las Vegas a good hotel?
Yes, for value. You get free parking, the Monorail and Loop on site, a pool free for guests of all ages and modernized rooms in three towers. The trade-offs are the north-end location, the resort fee, no poker room and a spa closed for renovation. We found no official safety data to rate it either way.
More hotel choices for your trip
Photo credits
- Photo: Han Zheng, CC BY-SA 2.0 via Wikimedia Commons
- Photo: Dialh, CC BY 4.0 via Wikimedia Commons
- Photo: Logan Frick, CC BY-SA 4.0 via Wikimedia Commons
- Photo: Property gallery on Booking.com.


